Chairman Blog

  • June 2018

    Greetings! It has already been five years since the establishment of Lantau Development Alliance (LaDA); during this time we have witnessed together the Island’s transformation. The Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge (HZMB) is scheduled to be opened soon, while the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Bay Area Development is in marked progress. In North Lantau, significant infrastructure projects are to be launched, including the Topside Development at HZMB’s Hong Kong Boundary Crossing Facilities, the Tuen Mun-Chek Lap Kok Link, Hong Kong International Airport’s Three-runway System and North Commercial District Development, and the Tung Chung New Town Extension. As for South Lantau, focus is placed on the conservation of valuable natural and cultural assets. We look forward to the bright and vibrant future of the Island.

    In the middle of the previous year, the government promulgated the Sustainable Lantau Blueprint based on the overarching principle of "Development in the North, Conservation for the South", mapping out the future development direction of Lantau Island in the short, medium and long term. At the end of last year, the Sustainable Lantau Office was established for the coordination, planning and implementation of various initiatives, marking an important milestone in the sustainable development of Lantau. Various stakeholders have supported and valued LaDA’s proposals to the government in the past years, including seizing opportunities for bridgehead economy, improving people’s livelihood, and developing Lantau into a smart community for living, work, business, leisure and study. Such success owes to the farsighted vision and substantial effort of the founding directors and executive groups. We are also grateful for the trust and support of our members, who have contributed to the accomplishment of LaDA in its development and work. In response, we promise to actively follow up with the planning and implementation of the Sustainable Lantau Blueprint for the creation of a sustainable Lantau.

    In the short term, we will urge the government to capitalise the opportunities brought by the HZMB, utilising the Hong Kong Boundary Crossing Facilities Island effectively. When developing measures in visitor reception and crowd management, it is important not only to enhance Lantau’s connectivity with landmarks in town centre, but also to direct leisure and business visitors to Lantau’s existing and future core development regions in business, conference and exhibition, and tourism to drive Lantau’s sustainable development.

    To optimise opportunities for bridgehead economy and to promote green tourism and leisure and recreational activities in Lantau, LaDA will consolidate tourism resources from enterprises and organisations across different sectors, including tourism, conference and exhibition, hotel services, and transport, boosting Hong Kong’s tourism industry and enhancing Lantau’s attractiveness. Besides, LaDA will keep track of the major impacts brought about on Lantau’s traffic condition and tourism development upon the opening of the HZMB.

    LaDA will continue its effort in communicating with the government and different stakeholders to enhance Lantau’s attractiveness, potential, connectivity and accessibility, and the implementation of the Sustainable Lantau Blueprint, developing Lantau into a smart, low-carbon and sustainable community.

    Thank you again for your support and attention to Lantau’s development.

Mr Vincent ChuaChairman

Chairman Blog

Back to Home

主席的話

  • 2018年6月

    大家好!轉眼間大嶼山發展聯盟已成立五個年頭,我們亦一起經歷著大嶼山的蛻變。港珠澳大橋通車在即、粵港澳大灣區發展如箭在弦,而北大嶼的各項重大基建項目如火如荼,包括港珠澳大橋香港口岸上蓋發展、屯門至赤鱲角連接路、香港國際機場三跑道系統、東涌新市鎮擴展、機場北商業區等, 而南大嶼則繼續保留豐富珍貴的自然和文化資產。小島百花齊放、大放異彩的一天指日可待!

    去年中,政府推出以「北發展、南保育」為總體原則的「可持續大嶼發展藍圖」,勾畫出大嶼山短、中、長期的發展路向,並於去年底成立「可持續大嶼辦事處」負責統籌、規劃及推行各項計劃,為大嶼山的可持續發展奠下重要的里程碑。聯盟多年來積極向政府倡議的願景︰把握橋頭經濟機遇及改善民生,創建發展與保育平衡的宜居、宜業、宜商、宜樂、宜學的社區,更得到各方認同與重視,這全賴各聯盟創會董事及歷屆行政小組的高瞻遠矚及勞苦功高,向政府及各持份者積極提倡切實可行的建議,同時我們亦十分感謝會員的信任與支持,攜手令聯盟的發展及工作取得豐碩成果!建基於此,聯盟未來會竭盡所能,積極跟進「可持續大嶼發展藍圖」的規劃和推行,同心塑造可持續的大嶼山。

    短期而言,我們會促請政府緊握港珠澳大橋通車所帶來的發展機遇,有效利用香港口岸人工島,在接待旅客的措施及引導人流管理的考量過程中,除了讓抵港旅客能便捷地進出香港市中心的主要地點外,亦應研究如何將人流適當地引導至大嶼山現有及未來的商業、會展、旅遊等發展中心區域,務求把旅客及商旅引入至大嶼山各地,以推動大嶼山的可持續發展。

    為充分把握橋頭經濟機遇及推進大嶼山綠色旅遊及康樂活動的發展,聯盟將團結大嶼山來自旅遊、會展、酒店服務、交通等跨界別企業和團體的旅遊資源,優化旅遊服務產業,令大嶼山的綠色旅遊及康樂活動更豐富多彩。此外,我們會密切留意大橋開通後對大嶼山的交通及旅遊主要帶來的影響。

    聯盟會一如以往,繼續與政府及各界保持緊密溝通,以一致目標提升大嶼山的魅力、潛力、通達性及可達性,以及落實「可持續大嶼發展藍圖」,攜手把大嶼山發展成為一個智慧型、綠色低碳及發展與保育並行的樂土!

    再次感謝您對大嶼山發展的支持與關注!

蔡國璋先生主席

主席的話

返回首頁